Fanquet Award PDF Print E-mail

From 1949 until 1975, when a LASFS member made their first sale to a professional publisher in the SF community, it was customary to honor them with a banquet, called a "Fanquet". This is a list of the fanquets that have been given.


1949: E. Everett Evans
1950: L. Major Reynolds (pseudonym of Louise Leipiar)
1951: Len Moffatt and Dave Lesperance
1952: Arthur Jean Cox
1953: Mel Hunter
1954: [not held]
1955: Ed M. Clinton, Jr.
1956: Helen Urban
1957: [not held; instead there was a testimonial dinner for Forrest J Ackerman]
1958: Monette Cummings
1959: George W. Fields (pseudonym of George Williamson)
1960: Julie Jardine and Richard E. Geis
1961: Charles Neutzel
1962: Rick Sneary
1963: not held
1964: not held
1965: Larry Niven
1966: Ted Johnstone (pseudonym of David E. McDaniel) and William B.Ellern
1967: not held
1968: Barry Alan Weissman
1969: Bill Warren and Hank Stine
1970: Jane Gallion
1971: Tim Kirk
1972: Alan Dean Foster and Mel Gilden
1973: Tina Hensel and Kathleen Goldin (penname: Kathleen Sky)
1974: Gail Kimberly
1975: Dian Girard Crayne

LASFS Showcase: a LASFS fundraiser held at the clubhouse:
1977:  Bjo Trimble

Last Updated ( Monday, 24 February 2020 )