Rotsler Award PDF Print E-mail

Rotsler Award Winners

Award for Long-Time Achievement as a Fanartist

The Rotsler Award: for lifetime work of outstanding fan artists, created and awarded by SCIFI, the Southern California Institutefor Fan Interests -

Bill Rotsler (1926-1997) knew everyone and did everything. He located the fossils, crystals, and stones for the Nebula Award trophies of the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA). He went house-hunting with Marilyn Monroe. He wrote science fiction. He sculpted with welded steel rods. He celebrated the West Coast Science Fantasy Conference (Westercon) as his birthday.

In the s-f community he was best known for graphic art. As a fanartist his cartoons were deft, his serious drawing fine, his fluency downright breathtaking. He won four Hugo Awards, twenty years apart, in 1975 and 1979, 1996 (when he also won the Retro-Hugo for 1946) and 1997; a remarkable span.

The Rotsler Award was created by the Southern California Institute for Fan Interests, Inc. (SCIFI, Inc.) in his memory in 1997, to honor the lifetime work of outstanding fanzine artists. It is awarded yearly by a specially appointed panel (the current judges are Sue Mason, Mike Glyer, and John Hertz) and, by arrangement with the LASFS, it is presented at the Loscon. Its recipients receive a $300 honorarium and a plaque. Traditionally there is an exhibit of the current recipient's work in the Loscon Art Show. There is a website at

Rotsler Award Recipients By Year

 Steve Stiles
 Grant Canfield
2000 Arthur Thomson (ATom)
2001 Brad Foster
2002 Kurt Erichsen
2003 Ray Nelson
2004 Harry Bell
2005 Marc Schirmeister
2006 Alexis Gilliland
2007 Terry Jeeves
 Taral Wayne 
 Dan Steffan
 Stu Shiffman
2011   D. West (declined)
 C. Ross Chamberlain
 Jim Barker
 Sue Mason
2015 Teddy Harvia
 Martin James Ditmar (“Dick”) Jenssen
2017  Jeanne Gomoll
 Ken Fletcher
 Alison Scott
2020 Alan White

Note: Bruce Pelz said that referring to Rotsler as Bill rather than William in the description of the Award is deliberate.

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 17 August 2021 )