Forry Award PDF Print E-mail
Forry Award Winners

Award for Service to the Science Fiction Community

Alphabetical List

Each year since 1966, the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society has presented the Forry Award for Lifetime Achievement in the field of Science Fiction.   Named after long-time fan and "Mr. LASFS", Forrest J Ackerman , the award is chosen by members of the club during a meeting usually in the mid- to late Fall of each year, and announced at that year's LOSCON.   In 2002, over thirty-five years after the award's establishment, the club felt that it was high time that Forry himself receive the award that bore his name.

This award is not the same as the Big Heart Award, administered for forty years by Forry Ackerman in memory of  E. Everett Evans.

Recipients by Year

Ray Bradbury
1967Fritz Leiber
1968Poul Anderson
1969Larry Niven
1970Harlan Ellison
1971Theodore Sturgeon
1972A.E. van Vogt
1973C.L. Moore
1974Robert Bloch
1975Kris Neville
1976Marion Zimmer Bradley
1977L. Sprague de Camp
1978Leigh Brackett
1979Jerry Pournelle
1980Robert A. Heinlein
1981Horace Gold
1982Arthur C. Clarke
1983Frank Kelly Freas
1984Julius Schwartz
1985Robert Silverberg
1986Jack Williamson
1987Donald A. Wollheim
1988Ursula K. Le Guin
1989Andre Norton
1990Isaac Asimov
1991Curt Siodmak
1992Hal Clement
1993Roger Zelazny
1994Frederik Pohl
1995Harry Turtledove
1996Chuck Jones
1997Jack Vance
1998David Brin
1999Connie Willis
2000Anne McCaffrey
2001Ray Harryhausen
2002Forrest J Ackerman
2003Philip Jose Farmer
2004Len Moffatt
2005John DeChancie
2006William Tenn
2007David Gerrold
Joss Whedon
Fred Patten
Karen Anderson
Mike Glyer
2012Terry Pratchett
2013Lois McMaster Bujold
Tim Powers
2015 Tie:
Charles Lee Jackson, II
Spider Robinson
Greg Benford
Greg Bear

Alphabetical List

Ackerman Forrest J
Anderson Poul
Anderson Karen
Asimov Isaac
Bloch Robert
Brackett Leigh
Bradbury Ray
Bradley Marion Zimmer
Brin David
Lois McMaster
Clarke Arthur C.
Clement Hal
de Camp L. Sprague
DeChancie John
Ellison Harlan
Farmer Philip Jose
Gerrold David
Glyer Mike
Gold Horace
Harryhausen Ray
Heinlein Robert A.
Jackson, II
Charles Lee
Jones Chuck
Kelly Freas Frank
Le Guin Ursula K.
Leiber Fritz
McCaffrey Anne
Moffatt Len
Moore C.L.
Neville Kris
Niven Larry
Norton Andre
Patten Fred
Pohl Frederik
Pournelle Jerry
Pratchett Terry
Schwartz Julius
Silverberg Robert
Siodmak Curt
Sturgeon Theodore
Tenn William
Turtledove Harry
van Vogt A.E.
Vance Jack
Whedon Joss
Williamson Jack
Willis Connie
Wollheim Donald A.
Zelazny Roger



Last Updated ( Friday, 15 September 2017 )